Ziggy and the victim blaming books

Our son has brought some revolting things home from nursery over the last couple of years; hand, foot and mouth disease, a passion for ‘Frozen’ and head lice all being highlights. Yet pre-school managed to top this by sending home two books that only a hard-wired instinct has prevented me from burning. I bring you the adventures of ‘Ziggy’, an alien that has managed to land in a suburban hell where four year old are expected to prevent themselves from being run over, using the power of handholding and reflective coats. 

20151228_185738

Running on the PAVEMENT is forbidden here, because cars need to drive on it to access their driveways. And if you get in the way you deserve to get squashed apparently. 

20151228_185847

20151228_185900

Whoever designed this place has some sort of people-hating condition. There is nowhere to cross the road, never mind ride a bike in safety.

20151228_185824

I don’t endanger my child by encouraging him to ignore the conditions of the streets where we live, I just don’t think he should feel responsible for the behaviour of people in large metal machines that won’t even notice if they run him down. 

20150306_091155

I’m looking forward to school sending home the adventures of Ziggy and the car driver, where Ziggy finds out that many collisions can be prevented by adults taking responsibility and looking out for children. Ideally I’d like to combine this approach with building infrastructure that protects pedestrians and cyclists. It can’t be harder than learning Danish..

20150918_161459
‘Take care of the little ones in traffic’ annual road safety campaign in Denmark

3 thoughts on “Ziggy and the victim blaming books

  1. ‘Don’t worry […] you won’t get squashed if you hold hands and walk with Mum’ – this ‘Mum’ has narrowly avoided being hit by numerous cars reversing at speed from their driveways, who obviously didn’t consider it their responsibility to look out for walking adults, nevermind running children!

  2. I had always been under the impression that dropped kerbs grant a right of access, for motorists to get into their driveways. It doesn’t turn that section of footpath into an extension of the road, but simply means that the driver won’t get prosecuted for driving over the footpath there. But the motorist is nevertheless on a *footpath*, which means the onus is on them to drive veeery slowly and carefully, as it’s still the pedestrian who has priority there.

    I tell my kids (9 and 10, now) that they need to watch out for cars which are coming out without looking (and obviously not walk in front of a moving car), but that it is *their* right of way on a footpath and that they do not have to automatically wait and let them out.

  3. Oops. I illustrated and developed Ziggy. I don’t hate people – honest. I even have 4 wee people I created at home and look after them quite well I think.

Leave a comment